2nd annual meeting of OMAG: Minutes of meeting

The second annual meeting of organized medicine academic guild was held on 20th January at Bangalore during INTERNATIONAL DERMCON, the annual national conference of IADVL under the chairmanship of President IADVL, Dr. Ramesh Bhatt.

The meeting was attended by presidents/Secretaries/Representatives of following associations.

- 1. AIDS Society of India (AIDS India)
- 2. Indian Chest Society (ICS)
- 3. Commonwealth Association of Health and Disability (COMHAD)
- 4. Indian Association of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists (IADVL)
- 5. Academic College of Emergency Experts (ACEE)
- 6. Emergency Medicine Association (EMA)
- 7. Academy of Family Physicians of India (AFPI)
- 8. National Neonatology Forum of India (NNFI)
- 9. Indian Orthopaedic Association (IOA)
- 10. Indian Academy of Paediatrics (IAP)
- 11. Association of Physicians Of India (API)
- 12. Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine (IAPSM)
- 13. Association of Surgeons of India (ASI)
- 14. All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS)

In addition Dr. AK Dhariwal, the former director of the NCDC was also present while the Director All India Institute of Medical Sciences New Delhi (AIIMS) Dr. Randeep Guleria and Dr. Sagar Galwankar joined on Skype.

The meeting started with the welcome and inauguration by Dr. Ramesh Bhatt which was followed by a panel discussion on OMAG (past, present and future). The panelists included Dr. Ishwar Gilada from AIDS Society of India, Dr. Raman Kumar from AFPI, Dr. Ramesh Bhatt from IADVL, Dr. RP Srivastva from ASI, Dr. Praveen Aggarwal from ACEE, Dr. Sudhir Chaudhary from ICS and Dr. Santosh Soans from IAP. The panel discussion was moderated by Dr. Sunil Raina from IAPSM and chaired by Dr. Sacchidanand, Vice Chancellor RGUHS and Dr. Gangadaraiah, member BOG, Medical Council of India.

The panel discussion was followed by the acceptance of the minutes of the mid-year meeting held at AIIMS New Delhi. A detailed presentation on the status of the registration of OMAG

was made by Dr. Ishwar Gilada.

Presentations by representatives of individual associations were taken up after that, wherein individual association reflected on their roles in OMAG and the expectations of the individual associations from OMAG. An open house discussion was taken up after the

presentations.

The presentations were followed by a presentation by Mr. Vidya Shankar on Sponsorships-How, Whom and When, wherein all the members participates. The members felt that there is an urgent need to improve the financial health of the Guild and suggested different measures including corporate sponsorship. The issue regarding payment of annual fee by the individual associations was also taken up and it was decided that the fee will be levied as decided in the constitution of Guild with a possibility of amendment in future.

Elections to the office of OMAG were held by voice vote and office bearers were elected unopposed.

The list of office bearers is as follows:

Chair-Advisory Board: Dr Randeep Guleria (AIIMS)

President: Dr. Ramesh Bhatt (IADVL)

President Elect: Prof S Natarajan (AIOS)

Past President: Dr Santosh Soans (IAP)

General Secretary: Dr. Ishwar Gilada (Aids Society of India)

Scientific Chair: Dr Sagar Galwankar (INDUSEM)

Convener: Dr Sunil Raina (IAPSM)

Joint Secretary: Dr Praveen Aggarwal (ACEE)

Public Relations Secretary: Dr Raman Kumar (AFPI)

After the elections the agenda for the next meeting was discussed and it was decided that the same will be forwarded to individual associations in advance. It was also decide that the next annual meeting will be conducted during the annual conference of All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) to be held in Gurugram in 2020. The mid year (as decided in the constitution) will be held at AIIMS New Delhi in the month of August 2019. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks by and to the chair.

Recommendations:

- 1. Development of National health Framework Document (action: all associations)
- 2. Payment of annual dues (action: all associations)